Illinois Seatbelt Laws

Illinois law requires all drivers and passengers (front and back seat) age 8 and older to wear safety belts even if the vehicle is equipped with air bags.  

If a passenger has a disability or medical condition that makes him/her unable to secure his/her own safety belt, the driver is responsible for securing and adjusting the safety belt for that passenger.

It is the responsibility of the driver to ensure ALL passengers obey the safety belt law and the Child Passenger Protection Act. Anyone found guilty of disobeying this law is subject to a fine and court costs.

For more information, please see the Illinois Rules of the Road, Chapter 4.

Transporting a Child

A child must be protected according to the Child Passenger Protection Act guidelines. Whenever a person is transporting a child under age 8, the person is responsible for properly securing the child in an appropriate child restraint system, which includes a booster seat. 

Every person, when transporting a child 8 years of age or older, but under age 16, is responsible for properly securing that child in a seat belt. If the vehicle used to transport children under eight years of age is equipped with lap belts only in the back seat and the child weighs more than 40 pounds, the child may be transported in the back seat wearing a lap belt only. If a combination lap and shoulder belt is available, the child must be secured in a booster seat.  

When riding in a truck with only a front seat equipped with safety belts, a child under age 8 must be secured in an appropriate child restraint system.

For more information, please visit the Child Passenger Safety Requirements page.

Illinois Graduated Licensing System

The Illinois Graduated Licensing System requires all passengers under 18 years to buckle-up when riding in a vehicle being driven by a person under the age of 18. For any person under the age of 18 who receives a graduated driver’s license, during the first six months of the license or until the person reaches the age of 18, whichever occurs sooner; the person may not drive with more than one person in the vehicle who is under the age of 20 unless they are siblings, children, step-siblings, and step children of the driver.

For more information, please see the Illinois GDL Parent-Teen Driving Guide.

Car Restrictions

Also, no person may operate any 1965 or later model vehicle unless the front seats are equipped with two sets of safety belts.